Masterworks Series II: Vaughan Williams "A Sea Symphony"

 16 May
 Manchester Memorial High School
 1 Crusader Way - 03103 - Manchester - United States
 Manchester Choral Society
Manchester Choral Society and Orchestra Dan Perkins, conductor Tami Petty, soprano Dana Whiteside, baritone Vaughan Williams’ tempestuous first symphony is the centerpiece in our Masterworks Series II. Subtitled “Sea Symphony,” the 5-movement work dramatically paints the poetry from Walt Whitman’s "Leaves of Grass." Mendelssohn’s programmatic "Fingal’s Cave Overture" is the perfect complement, inspired by his visit to the rocky coast of Scotland and a cave on the island of Staffa. Completing the program is Leshnoff ’s beautiful "Requiem for the Fallen," which combines traditional Latin texts with the Jewish Kaddish, the 13th century Prayer of St. Francis, and additional poetry by Walt Whitman.

More Events In Manchester

 12 November, Saturday
 01 November, Tuesday
 10 June, Saturday
 07 January, Saturday
 03 November, Thursday