FRI 5.22 the 4onthefloor, American Aquarium, Dan Mariska @ MPLS, MN ( First Avenue ) Album Release

 22 May
 First Avenue & 7th St Entry
 701 First Ave N - 55403 - Minneapolis - United States
 The 4onthefloor
The 4onthefloor American Aquarium Dan Mariska and The Boys Choir Doors 8 PM. Tickets : Happy Hour at Depot before hand Working with Erik Koskinen on All In was thrilling for the band. “He’s a national treasure, an American hero,” asserts Douglas. Koskinen helped the band find the right amount of layers to achieve their characteristically fast and ferocious sound on All In. The band pushes the envelope into a sonic territory that is altogether new, exciting, and familiar. “We wanted to showcase a lot of our roots in blues music and the immediacy of post-pop punk with the hooks & sing-alongs you'd find on the FM dial,” says Douglas. All In is jubilant and meaty, a loose record that moves; you cannot stand still when listening, nor should you. Fast and speedy, the album is in your face, but with a friendly grin. Collectively, the band strikes a meaningful balance between fast life in the big city and living in the moment, connected with their roots. The album’s exuberant opener “Lake Street Shuffle” is a fast-moving riff that Douglas had in his songbook for a long time. An homage to the well-known and much traveled Lake Street in Minneapolis, the song reminisces about connecting with travelers on the American highways, even when far from home. Douglas writes about experiences, failures, and successes, not so much the what-could-have-beens. Other standout songs include “All My Friends”, a track long in the pocket of the band. Starting with the signature heart pounding, foot stomping rhythm of the band’s bass drums, Douglas calls the track a “party anthem, sing-a-long. The 4onthefloor is setting out to stomp on in the footholds of rock ‘n’ roll and light the fires ahead. ”. When Douglas bellows “all my friends comin’ down tonight”, we know we’re all invited to join in. Being from a small town himself, Douglas wanted to write an anthem for all of those who understand the joy of coming home, and the excitement of exploring the world beyond. “Small Towns” is that anthem, rooted in Americana, reminding us that we can create that sense of community and nostalgia wherever we go. On “Joy”, Douglas hearkens back to the well-known ranting of fellow Minnesotan Craig Finn of The Hold Steady. Onstage, Finn will often assert, “there is so much joy, in what we do." The 4onthefloor echo that sentiment, challenging fans to live in the moment, not for the moment. The furious delivery of the crunchy guitar riffs and beating drums can be heard and truly felt throughout the track. “Don’t Tell Me” reminds us that though we all face challenges, big and small, we can gain strength from those around us. It’s also a tribute to friends lost. When Douglas sings ”some friends are already up above and still teaching me how to grow”, he is referencing fellow Minnesotan folk rock singer-songwriter Zach Sobiech (A Firm Handshake), the inspirational teen who touched a nation with his talent and resilience in the face of terminal cancer. The 4onthefloor strives to memorialize their beloved friend in their classic, fun rock ‘n’ roll fashion. Whether a romping, stomping party anthem, or a reflective tribute to their roots, The 4onthefloor have created an album that is quick, energetic, and fit. Gabriel Douglas doesn’t write stuff he can’t play, and doesn’t play stuff he doesn’t mean. You can hear this sense of immediacy throughout All In. Life is for the living and this is the soundtrack to a life well lived. We’re All In. The 4onthefloor will celebrate the national release of All In with a special hometown show at the famed First Avenue (Minneapolis, MN) on Friday, May 22, 2015, and embark on a West Coast tour in May and June 2015.

More Events In Minneapolis

 05 November, Saturday
 10 November, Thursday
 09 November, Wednesday
 11 December, Sunday
 01 January, Sunday