16 May
 Royal Albert Hall
  - - Nottingham - United Kingdom
 Nataly Stevens
Come and enjoy the night of beautiful music played by the Nottingham Symphony Orchestra. You will hear Pyotr Tchaikovsky's Symphony No.5 which was completed in 1888. When the Symphony was played in Hamburg in 1889 Brahms made a special effort to hear it, but said to the composer that he disliked the last movement. So far from being offended, Tchaikovsky remarked that he appreciated Brahms's frankness- and went on to say that he did not greatly care for those of Brahms's works with which he was acquainted! Later on, Dimitrii Shostakovich remarked that the Symphony describes the feelings of a 'man, with all his joys and sufferings...which is lyrical from beginning to end.' He also suggested that Tchaikovsky was 'pessimistic' and rather 'tragic' in his music, reflecting 'the conflict in the development of human life, both personal and social...' His work is permeated with 'the spirit of struggle, the striving to overcome the blind elemental forces.' Borodin's Overture comes from his opera, Prince Igor. Music from it is still a concert favourite. Alexander Borodin was the illegitimate son of an elderly Russian Prince and was brought up by his mother. Despite his obvious talent in music his chief love was science. He became a distinguished professor of chemistry, founding a School of Medicine for Women. After writing two symphonies, in 1870 Borodin began work on the opera, whose composition dragged on over the next 17 years, and remained unfinished at his death. It was subsequently completed by Rimsky-Korsakov. The German Composer Max Bruch worked as a conductor and became a professor of composition. An enormously prolific composer he remembered today chiefly for three of his works, one of which, the G minor Violin Concerto you will hear in the concert. The concerto was completed in 1866 and performed with Bruch himself conducting. Unfortunately for Bruch, the World War I disturbed his plans for the future. At the end of war he was destitute, unable to secure a deal to sell his work in America. Bruch carried on composing and created two more violin concertos, but neither has gained as much fame as his first. It was celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim who performed Bruch's G minor Violin concerto beautifully in 1868. This time it will be performed by Edward Tomanek, talented 12 year old violinist. Tickets: Centre stalls £14, side stalls and arena £12, seniors £10, children £6. Available form Notts Playhouse Box Office. Tel. 0115 941 9419.

More Events In Nottingham

 27 October, Thursday
 26 November, Saturday
 03 December, Saturday
 10 December, Saturday