City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

 16 May
 West Road Concert Hall 11 West Road Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 9DP England
  - - -
 Concerts in Cambridgeshire
City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra St Catharine's College Girls' Choir Edward Wickham (choir master) Robert Hodge (conductor) Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland Adagio for Strings Op 11 - Samuel Barber Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments in E flat Op 7 - Richard Strauss The Planets Op 32 - Gustav Holst There are musical works that show off the sections of an orchestra in turn: Benjamin Britten’s ‘Young Person’s Guide’ and Béla Bartók’s ‘Concerto for Orchestra’ are examples. The City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra is doing it another way. Aaron Copland’s ‘Fanfare for the Common Man’ features the brass and percussion sections. This rousing music has been used extensively in film and TV. So too has the ‘Adagio for Strings’ by Samuel Barber. Scored originally for a string quartet, this version gives the orchestral strings almost vocal powers of expression. The woodwind and horns reveal their strengths in the Serenade for wind by Richard Strauss: an astonishing masterpiece by a composer still in his teens. Gustav Holst’s suite ‘The Planets’ brings everyone together for a mesmeric image of our solar system and its influences. Because the music has been borrowed repeatedly by TV and film makers, it will be familiar, but who can resist hearing it again? Saturday May 16, 2015 at 19:30 £18, concession £16, student £8, under 14 £5 Phone for tickets: 01223 300085 Phone lines open: 12:30 – 16:00 on Monday, 12:30 – 19:00 Tuesday – Friday, and 15:00 – 19:00 on Saturday Other sources: ADC Box Office, Park St, Cambridge, CB5 8AS Book by email: Tickets "at the door" - until sold out For a map and further details please visit

More Events In

 19 November, Saturday
 15 December, Thursday